New Beginnings

Today is the first time in a very long time that I’ve even looked at this blog.  I scrolled through posts and watched all the “anniversary slide shows” that I’ve made over the past few years.  It made me sad, Johnny’s Garden is such a beautiful dream and there has always been more potential here than Don and I could harness on our own despite mostly his heroic efforts.  As for myself I’ve utterly failed Johnny’s Garden the last couple of years.  My heart has always belonged to horses since as early as I can remember.  Looking back I suppose I should have known that once in my life again they would steal me from everything else.  Atsili is a great joy to me, and I wouldn’t give him up for the world.  The  volunteer work I do with the NM Mounted Search and Rescue, is good work and important, something I feel privileged to be able to do, but its time consuming and I saddle up and ride away from my obligations at Johnny’s Garden leaving Don holding a bag he can’t manage by himself.

Not having the man power that we’ve needed to make our dreams for Johnny’s Garden a reality has always been our biggest dilemma right from the start.  If the horses had never come into my life I don’t know how much difference that would have made, we would still be overwhelmed.  Over the years we’ve considered different options for resolving this problem without successfully hitting on the right solution, but now, maybe, we have the opportunity to breath new life into those dreams.

My son Wade did some world traveling a few years ago and came home with some dreams of his own.  He has launched a non profit organization, Food Karma.  It aims to feed a community, good, locally grown whenever possible, affordable food even for those who maybe can’t afford it.  It turns out that Food Karma and Johnny’s Garden have just the resources that each need.  Johnny’s Garden has the potential to produce food, a lot of food, fruits and vegetables, eggs, goats milk.  Food Karma has the youth and energy that Johnny’s Garden needs to thrive.  Food Karma and Johnny’s Garden will join forces to create something that can potentially feed all of our dreams.

This idea is still in its infancy but it is spring, the best time to begin and we have the power to shape and transform that which we set our intention on.  I hope you will be hearing new and wonderful things from Johnny’s Garden and Food Karma as we set out on this new path together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Beginnings

  1. Mary Sharp Davis says:

    Dear Leiah, Life is never worked out in our dreams and intentions. It is only in the doing. I am thrilled you have chosen to follow your bliss with your beloved horses. The garden and Food Karma seem like such a good idea. Hannah Kroeger ran a successful soup kitchen in Boulder Colorado for years through the non-profit of her church. I don’t know if it still exists. It too would be a great model. There is such an abundance of wasted food here in Albuquerque every day. Many places use this food such as Project Share etc. but it is a soup kitchen and there is never any charge. A restaurant is a unique idea and I can see its place, its need here in Albuqurerque. It would be great if it could be here in the south valley. Thanks for your blog dear heart. Mary

    • Leiah says:

      Love you so much Mary. Food Karma is a long way right now from a storefront location, we are working on raising money for a food truck and hope to grow from there. Right now we are working on pop up events at various locations and a regular presence at the downtown growers market.

      I will mention Hannah’s soup kitchen in Boulder to Wade he’s always interested in ideas he might be able to incorporate into his own plan.

  2. Andrea says:

    Amazing! I look forward to the successes for all of you!
    We will contribute to your efforts as able…my lazy butt needs fresh air and sun ;o

Leave a Reply

