Hard Reset


That’s as good a title as any I suppose, a fair comment on life and how things don’t ever proceed the way you thought they would.

Once again, it’s been a year since I’ve written, more than a year this time.  Something about spring always brings me back here eventually, this year is no exception.  This year though things are much different than they were in previous years.  We’re still here, still holding on but the visions have changed, and Johnny’s Garden today is not what it was at the start or what we ever had imagined it would be.

Last year we tried making a connection with Food Karma, the idea being to provide produce for the Food Karma endeavor in exchange for help managing the overwhelming workload that a property like Johnny’s Garden takes to maintain.  And there was a good exchange, but not enough in the end to really make a difference.  There simply are not enough hours in the day, Don is only one person and my own pursuits have kept me largely away for a couple of years now.

…So.

I actually wrote those opening paragraphs in the spring of 2015, nearly a year ago.  It’s been almost two years now since I’ve posted to this blog.  My feelings about the blog are somewhat complicated, and parallel the intense emotions I feel about Johnny’s Garden and our original vision for what our lives here would be.  The simple fact is that vision is not going to manifest and we’ve moved away from that and into a new reality that better matches our current circumstances but I haven’t been able to do that with this blog.  Truthfully I haven’t really tried, I’ve just let it sit here and be a thorn in my side and place where I  put my guilt.  Time for a spring cleaning perhaps?  I talked with Don about it today: “I’m thinking about posting in the blog again, but I don’t know how to write about our lives here anymore”.  Practical as always Don said, “write about what you do with your horse, about the ducks and the geese, just write about what we do”.  That seems simple enough right?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

